The house was presented to August Macke (1887-1914) by his wife's family in 1910, as a home for the young couple and their son Walter. Macke soon added a top-floor studio, and it was here that he received visitors including Max Ernst (1891-1976) and Franz Marc (1880-1916), and produced many of his most important paintings. Combining elements of Expressionism and Fauvism, these include several views from and of the house, and the town of Bonn, that can still be recognised today.
August Macke was killed in World War One, but his wife Elisabeth continued to live in the house during several periods until her death in 1975. The August Macke House was preserved for the nation after a campaign, and formally opened as a museum in 1991. Today, visitors can see reconstructed interiors from the time of August Macke, along with a rolling programme of temporary exhibitions. In 2004, an development project began to add a new wing to the house which will allow a much-expanded visitor offer, including a cafe and dedicated temporary exhibitions space.
Bornheimer Straße 96
49 0228 655531
Currently closed for renovations. The museum will re-open in the autumn of 2017.