© Nolde Stiftung Seebüll, Fotograf Dirk Dunkelberg
The Nolde-Museum is the former home of the painter and printmaker Emil Nolde, and was designed by him in 1927. Constructed like a stronghold, with narrow windows and a flat roof, the building recalls the contemporary architecture of the Bauhaus. Nolde consciously chose to distinguish his house in this way from the crouching thatched Frisian farmsteads of the surrounding countryside.
The rooms on the ground floor, where Nolde had his studio, are aligned with the course of the sun; each window also offers a spectacular view of the garden. Directly above the studio is the hall of paintings that Nolde added in 1937. Today, visitors can see Nolde's religious paintings on the luminescent ground floor, while the former living areas upstairs have been converted into cabinets to house exhibitions of the artist's works on paper.
1 March - 30 November 2016
Daily, 10am - 6pm
© Photo Helmut Kunde
© Nolde Stiftung Seebüll 2015